Skip to content
St. Helens Counts — St. Helens, in numbers.Local help →

St. Helens, in numbers

People and living standards

St. Helens council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

St. Helens council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 180,063 in 1991 to 189,890 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

St. Helens council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 177,504 people in 1996; 189,890 people in 2025. 7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — St. Helens council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991180,063
1992180,028
1993179,209
1994179,317
1995178,071
1996177,504
1997176,936
1998176,364
1999176,795
2000176,757
2001176,826
2002176,295
2003175,997
2004175,738
2005175,361
2006175,199
2007174,970
2008175,106
2009175,272
2010175,203
2011175,405
2012176,214
2013176,451
2014177,785
2015178,296
2016179,229
2017180,150
2018180,937
2019181,541
2020182,102
2021183,394
2022184,858
2023186,659
2024188,397
2025189,890
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

St. Helens council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 37,097 people in 1996; 32,877 people in 2025. 11.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — St. Helens council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199137,027
199237,135
199337,259
199437,521
199537,187
199637,097
199737,032
199836,786
199937,026
200036,817
200136,535
200236,006
200335,380
200434,881
200534,341
200633,864
200733,367
200832,822
200932,413
201032,121
201131,946
201232,030
201331,905
201432,172
201532,144
201632,271
201732,689
201832,922
201932,950
202032,694
202132,575
202232,788
202332,981
202433,005
202532,877
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

St. Helens council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 113,480 people in 1996; 117,728 people in 2025. 3.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — St. Helens council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991116,431
1992116,260
1993115,227
1994114,936
1995114,003
1996113,480
1997112,971
1998112,604
1999112,665
2000112,512
2001112,631
2002112,353
2003112,315
2004112,258
2005112,247
2006112,363
2007112,291
2008112,511
2009112,601
2010112,186
2011111,798
2012111,119
2013110,540
2014110,725
2015110,691
2016110,817
2017110,851
2018111,035
2019111,197
2020111,931
2021113,012
2022113,959
2023115,270
2024116,497
2025117,728
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

St. Helens council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,927 people in 1996; 39,285 people in 2025. 45.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — St. Helens council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199126,605
199226,633
199326,723
199426,860
199526,881
199626,927
199726,933
199826,974
199927,104
200027,428
200127,660
200227,936
200328,302
200428,599
200528,773
200628,972
200729,312
200829,773
200930,258
201030,896
201131,661
201233,065
201334,006
201434,888
201535,461
201636,141
201736,610
201836,980
201937,394
202037,477
202137,807
202238,111
202338,408
202438,895
202539,285
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 183,248 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · St. Helens · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,5791.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7760.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,9711.1%
White176,88896.5%
Other ethnic group1,0340.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 175,308 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · St. Helens · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White171,87798%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1790.7%
Asian/Asian British1,7641%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2480.1%
Other ethnic group2400.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 176,843 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · St. Helens · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White174,78798.8%
Mixed6740.4%
Asian/Asian British6820.4%
Black/Black British1690.1%
Chinese/Other5310.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

St. Helens council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,847 per person in 1997; £21,753 per person in 2024. 177.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — St. Helens council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,847
19987,973
19998,438
20009,013
20019,492
20029,713
200310,070
200410,613
200511,094
200611,575
200712,232
200812,501
200912,989
201013,179
201113,255
201213,683
201314,014
201414,345
201514,982
201615,363
201715,992
201816,494
201917,192
202017,322
202117,523
202218,520
202320,258
202421,753
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

St. Helens council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -26% in 1997; -16.2% in 2024. 9.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — St. Helens council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-26
1998-26.4
1999-25.4
2000-24.3
2001-23.3
2002-23.2
2003-22.7
2004-21.8
2005-21.1
2006-21
2007-20.3
2008-20.6
2009-18.9
2010-18.4
2011-18.7
2012-19
2013-20
2014-20.7
2015-21.2
2016-20.2
2017-18.8
2018-19.2
2019-18.4
2020-17.5
2021-19.8
2022-19.4
2023-17.2
2024-16.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.9%

21 March 2021 · St. Helens council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.4%

21 March 2021 · St. Helens council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.4%

21 March 2021 · St. Helens council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.5%

21 March 2021 · St. Helens council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£185,000

July 2026 · St. Helens council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£807

August 2026 · St. Helens council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.